Lovers and Loners: Stories
Jean Ryan

In Lovers and Loners, Jean Ryan’s new collection of short stories, we meet a richly varied group of women struggling for footholds in a shifting world. Each story in Lovers and Loners reveals a craftsmanship that Publisher’s Weekly compared to “a scientist’s observant eye” in their review of her previous collection Survival Skills. Here Ryan continues examining the human experience, one woman at a time.

Strange Company
Jean Ryan

In Strange Company, a delightful collection of short essays, Jean Ryan brings us closer to the natural world. From lizards to lady bugs, from the inscrutable sloth to the resplendent quetzal, Ryan reveals some of our commonalities with earth’s creatures and hints at the lessons we might learn from them. Do lizards fall in love? What do sloths think about all day? Why is the blood of a horseshoe crab so valuable? Ryan invites the reader on a wild journey through land, sea and sky. With her precise, elegant prose, Ryan draws us into the tantalizing world of animals and their oddities and our place among them.

Lost Sister
Jean Ryan

A sauté cook at a Berkeley restaurant, Lorrie Rivers is weary of her job and tired of the dating circuit; she needs to make some changes in her life. More than anything, she wants to visit her estranged sister Bett, for whom she feels tremendous love—and guilt. When Ginger, Bett’s look-alike, appears, Lorrie instantly bonds with the girl and enjoys a second chance at being the older sister. But joy turns to fear as Lorrie begins to understand not only what happened in her own family, but the peril surrounding the young girl.

Outer Voices Inner Lives
A Collection of LGBTQ Writers Over 50

A Lambda Literary Award finalist for anthology, this vibrant collection of stories and personal reflections by 16 LGBTQ writers over 50 offers understanding and experience. With a foreword by iconic author Patricia Nell Warren, this collection will resonate with older readers. And younger readers will find inspiration, imagination, and the resiliency of the creative spirit. Edited by Mark McNease and Stephen Dolainski.

Last Room at the Cliff’s Edge
Mark McNease

Retired homicide detective Linda Sikorsky and her wife Kirsten McClellan head to Maine for a long weekend. Bad weather alters their plans, forcing them to stop for the night at the Cliff’s Edge, a motel known for secrecy and indiscretion. Something murderous goes bump in the night, sending the women on a search for justice when a young reporter’s body is found dumped and violated on a back road.

Kill Switch: A Kyle Callahan Mystery
Mark McNease

Kyle Callahan finds himself in therapy after ending the life of the Pride Killer. Joined once again by his friend Detective Linda Sikorsky, Kyle takes on his first cold case, the murder of a teenager three years ago. Come along as Kyle delves into the murky undercurrent of New York politics, pursues a crime boss who kills as easily as she breathes, and seeks justice for the father of a murdered chil

Death by Pride: A Kyle Callahan Mystery
Mark McNease

It’s Gay Pride weekend in New York City. Partygoers arrive to show the world how to have a good time while a serial killer stalks the party, claiming his victims in threes. Detective Linda Sikorsky comes to visit Kyle Callahan and his husband Danny Durban. Harmless fun turns to terror in a frantic effort to stop the killer. This time it’s personal, and this time one of them might not make it out alive.

Death in the Headlights: A Kyle Callahan Mystery Featuring Detective Linda
Mark McNease

Kyle Callahan and his partner Danny Durban head to rural New Jersey for a relaxing week with their dear friend, Detective Linda Sikorsky, recently retired and newly in love. Driving back from dinner with Linda and her fiancée Kirsten, they discover the body of Abigail Creek, run off the road on a bicycle wearing only her nightgown and slippers. Come along as Linda and Kyle make their way into the shadows and enter the spider’s web called CrossCreek Farm, determined to find out who in this family of spiders is the deadliest one.

Pride and Perilous: A Kyle Callahan Mystery
Mark McNease

Manhattan’s Katherine Pride Gallery becomes the center of high art and low death. Kyle Callahan Mysteries. Amateur photographer Kyle is about to have his first photo exhibit at the gallery. Bodies start to fall and Kyle realizes somebody wants this gallery closed forever. Detective Linda Sikorsky returns to join Kyle  in a desperate chase to stop a killer.

Murder at Pride Lodge: A Kyle Callahan Mystery
Mark McNease

In the first of the Kyle Callahan Mysteries, Kyle and his partner Danny Durban head to Pride Lodge, their favorite getaway from the stresses of New York City. They expect to enjoy a festive Halloween weekend. What they find instead is a web of murder, deceit, and revenge served cold as a knife blade. 

Stop the Car: A Kindle Single
Mark McNease

1977. Three teenagers driving down an Indiana back road. As the car careens along beneath a million stars, they see it, up there in the sky. Two of them demand they stop the car. The driver refuses. What happens next to them could be real or imagined, but it will never be forgotten.

5 of a Kind: Short Fiction
Mark McNease

A collection of short stories that explore the human condition in all its folly, joy, despair and hope. From a woman whose small son is there one moment and gone the next, to a man who has spent his life peering out at the world from behind a curtain. Each story and its characters express the inner voices of ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. Some survive, though in what way and in what state they had never imagined.

The Seer: A Short Story
Mark McNease

“Death is the father,” he said. “Apocalypse is the child.” Worlds are set to collide as a two thousand year old man living above a pet store in New York City encounters a young couple about to have their first child. He looks at them one morning and sees … terror. Can he stop them? Can they stop him? See for yourself and glimpse what is to come, and what is gone forever.

The Pride Trilogy: Three Kyle Callahan Mysteries
Mark McNease

Together for the first time in one book, all three Kyle Callahan Mysteries making up the Pride Trilogy: Murder at Pride Lodge, Pride and Perilous, and the concluding Death by Pride. Reading the trilogy as a whole, readers can see the story arc that brings Kyle Callahan and all the characters to life as they stop one killer at a time.

Rough & Tumble: A Dystopian Love Tragedy
Mark McNease

Rough and Tumble were not their names by birth.” Boy meets boy at the end of civilization. The year is distant, the reality of those living appears dark and harsh. Among them, surviving by wit and easy violence, are Rough and Tumble. Join them as they go on a last nightly prowl, looking for loot and any way out.

In Harmony with the Seasons: Herbs, Nutrition and Well-Being
By Cathy McNease, Dipl CH, RH

Master herbalist Cathy McNease provides a collection of writings on Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) that represents the culmination of a life spent as a teacher and practitioner of this medicine. Practical advice is given about relieving common health complaints, using foods, herbs, and lifestyle adjustments.

An Unobstructed View: Short Fiction
Mark McNease

These eleven stories speak to the common experiences we all share: growing up, growing older, getting on with life as best we can, never surrendering hope. The characters we meet on a street corner in Manhattan or in an apartment in Queens, are characters we could as easily meet on any given day in our own lives wherever we live. At their best, the stories in this volume provide us with an unobstructed view into ourselves.